#20 Somewhere Over The Rainbow.


This morning is different somehow. I’ve been up since about 4am and have been crying for the past two hours. I guess I shouldn’t have watched the videos I was watching about the Hawaiian singer Israel “IZ” Kamakawiwoʻole . He did a remake of the song Over The Rainbow, he died a few years ago but not until after he gained the love and respect of the people of Hawaii for his wonderful and moving music. That song makes me so sad and I remember the first time I heard it, I cried that day too. Some days are just sad days I guess. I have a ton of stuff to do today but I think before I get started I’ll sing for a while. I’m trying to get Rick to hook my Karaoke machine back up to my stereo but he just woke up so it might take a while to get him to do it. Today feels like a music day. Music days in my house usually revolve around me not feeling very well so I sing as loud as I can and hope the neighbors don’t complain. I know I need to practice anyway because I haven’t sung anything in a long time and my voice doesn’t sound as good if I go too long without singing. Rick and I used to go out to Karaoke competitions every week and I would always take 1st place and Rick and Hollywood would take 2nd and 3rd. They made us quit going every week because nobody else got to win anything. It just seems like every song I hear this morning has some very sad meaning to me. I hate that! I just need to sing for a while and cry for a while and I’ll feel better. Rick just asked me why I woke up so sad today and I didn’t have an answer..I have too many thought going through my head today to narrow it down. On the video I watch this morning at the very end they showed IZ’s funeral with thousands of Hawaiian people celebrating his life while they played his music and spilled his ashes into the ocean. Maybe that’s why I’m sad today. It made me think about my own funeral. I wonder how that’s gonna go. Hopefully it won’t happen for a long time but these days I can’t help but think about it. I’ll be better after I sing some happy music, maybe some Christmas songs.

2 thoughts on “#20 Somewhere Over The Rainbow.

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

