#61 Another hospital vacation


I met my new surgeon today and I think she and I will get along just fine. She has my sence of humor and explained everything to me better than any other doctor has so far. She wants to do the biopsies all at once and go into my chest cavity through my left side so that she can get to a few different areas to get the samples she needs to have tested for any malignancies without causing any unnecessary damage while she’s in there. I explained to her that my biggest problem with having any surgery is the pain afterwords and she said that she has no problem with working with my pain doctor and letting him order whatever he thinks is appropriate for my pain level while I’m in the hospital and when I go home. She said that she wants to do it next week so I won’t be able to donate my own blood to the hospital just in case I would need to be given any, however she said that most likely I won’t need to be given any blood anyway. It looks like I’ll be inpatient for three to five days because I’ll have a chest tube in for a few days and I have to be able to get around on my own before they can release me from the hospital. I’ll be going to the same hospital where I’ve had all my tests and surgeries so I already know most of the nurses and doctors there, I don’t know how I would do if I had to go to a hospital where I had to explain my medical background to everyone who was taking care of me. I’m trying to look on the bright side and so far it’s working, I’m not freaking out about this and hopefully I won’t. I’m just happy that she’ll be able to look at all of the questionable areas all at the same time, this way I don’t have to have multiple surgeries and hospital stays. I told mom that I think I will need about one medium bag of M&Ms per day and Rick is going to put together a bag for me with all the things I’ll need to be as comfortable as possible while I have to be away from home and I’m sure that I will be very well taken care of. I think I need a nap now because today took a lot out of me physically and emotionally.

4 thoughts on “#61 Another hospital vacation

  1. Well this sounds like a positive Cindy. I’m glad you are doing this, but in the long run, you have to do what is best for you and YOU are the only one who can decide that. I’m praying for you my friend. I can bring M&M’s if you need me to!

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

