#84 Hawaii? maybe


I thought that while we had a little bit of money this month we should go ahead and install new carpet in the house. Unfortunately, the house is so big that we could only afford to do the downstairs and the steps and upstairs landing. I was told that they would be here at noon yesterday and be finished in a few hours. Nope…the two guys are here again today after being here all day yesterday, they didn’t leave until seven-thirty last night. We were both really tired so we were happy that they didn’t stay any later than they did. They pulled up the carpet on the stairs before they left so I was doing ninja moves to go up to bed walking on my crutches sideways. Rick forgot about the tack strips on the way down when they came back at seven this morning and stepped on one. It wasn’t bad enough to hurt him very much, just enough to make me laugh. I’m already second guessing doing it but when I saw what was under the old carpet I couldn’t believe how bad it was. Before we moved into our house Rick’s drug addict youngest  brother lived here and had a puppy locked in the house so it went to the bathroom in what ever room it was locked in that day, and after trying many times to clean it we just gave up and had to have it removed. I can’t believe how much it costs to buy new carpet. I had them put in a short pile because of my wheelchair. I was afraid that if I had a nice light color and soft carpet that I would just ruin it with my wheels. I have to wait a few more months before I can pay for the bedrooms to be done, but at least the worst of it wast done first. I know that I should be happy that I’m getting it done at all, but I just hate to part with what little money we do have. It seems so hard to come by anymore. I saw them sweep up what seemed to me to be an unusual amount of dust from under the pad, I think that might be why I have such a hard time breathing in the house. Hopefully this will help with that. If so, then it will have been well worth the money we paid. Rick’s other brother Ray is getting his Captain’s Bars next month and wants us to go and be there for the ceremony, he called me yesterday and asked me if we would go but I had to tell him that Rick could go but financially we just couldn’t afford for both of us to go. Everything is so expensive in Hawaii. Maybe if it’s a short trip we could both go. I’ll have to think about it more before I decide. The last time we went to Hawaii we had issues with people watching the house and animals. I had friends fighting over who was doing a better job while I was gone, I know it sounds crazy… but they are crazy so it was kind of expected. I would love to be there for him after all he’s done for us but if only Rick can go then I’m OK with that. I don’t want Ray to be alone for something that he’s so proud of and we’re the only family that could go. I think I’m talking myself into going. You only live once right? I’ll check on tickets today and see what the damage would be for the two of us. Last time it wasn’t that bad but I bought the tickets four moths ahead of time and it was in February. I am afraid of being sick or in a lot of pain and being so far from my doctors. That’s something else I have to ask about. Both of our doctors would have to be OK with us flying. I can’t tell if this pounding in my head is from the carpet installers or a headache coming on so I’m going to lay down for a bit before I look into flight prices. A  vacation does sound really good right now.

2 thoughts on “#84 Hawaii? maybe

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

