#90 A letter to a new friend


I had a post from another site that I wanted to elaborate on, and with her permission I’ve copied it here. cin
Nikkis_Jour… Joined: Jul 2012 Posts: 3
Post a reply Report this Post22 hours ago Nikkis_Journey wrote:

Cindy,

I’m new here. I just happened upon this thread. Actually, it seemed to be calling out to me that I needed to read it. So, I did – beginning to now. In fact, that’s all I’ve done all day. I just want to let you know that you have touched my heart. You have made me laugh and made me cry. I thank you for both. You are an incredible human being. You are my hero – an amazing explorer, creating your own path through this roller coaster we have come to know as – life. Your husband is a beautiful man – truly perfect for you in ever way. Your sisters and Mother to seem to be phenomenal human beings as well. In fact, at one point during my reading of all this, I thought, “Wow, I wish I had sisters!” then remembered, oh yeah, I do (one anyway). LOL. I hope you have a wonderful day and a pain-free, energy filled life. I will be praying for you and your family.

You make me smile.

All of my best wishes coming straight to you.

Nikki

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dear Nikki,

I have poured my little heart out on this blog with the intention of keeping my friends and family up to date on my lung disease and (second)cancer, but I’ve found in that process that I’m really doing it for myself as much as to help everyone else understand what’s going on. Every morning I wake up at the crack of dawn, and with my coffee in hand I head straight to my computer to write my morning post. I have so many different moods and every day I feel different, so it’s like someone new is writing this blog every day. I found myself writing down every little thing that bothers me as well as how I’m feeling and some days I’m even happy and pain-free. I never know how each day is going to start or end so It’s usually even a surprise to me as to what’s going on in my life and what I’ll write about. I think my writing has changed because of the comments that I get about it and that is a huge blessing to me as far as keeping a good attitude about having to go through so much. I’ve found support and love from complete strangers here that helps me through some very rough times as well as making my good days better. So today, I write to you. I want you to know that you matter to me, and the fact that you’ve now read all seven thousand of my posts on the BCO site and are working your way through all 90 posts on  my blog tells me that I’m doing the right thing by sharing everything that I have. I don’t hold back and I know that I write some very upsetting things sometimes, but for some strange reason I figured that I needed to do it…so I continue. I’m grateful to you and everyone else who takes the precious time out of their day to read about things that mean so much to me and hopefully I’m helping someone else get through some difficult times in their lives as well. I don’t take that for granted and never will. Just taking that time for me is enough to let me know that I still matter. Some days I don’t feel like the world even knows that I’m still here, but when I see all the people who want to know how I am and what I’m doing it puts things back into perspective for me and makes me feel needed again. That’s been something that’s been hard for me to come by ever since I found out about this new cancer. Just having people like you reading and then telling me how I’ve touched your life keeps me going in the right direction. Thank you for reading everything, and thank you for letting me know that I’m not alone and just writing to myself. I really needed to hear someone say what you said so your timing was impeccable. I’ll try to keep it interesting for you, but to be honest, my life is so crazy that I usually don’t have to try very hard. I’m so happy to have touched your life and please know that you’ve now touched mine.

Sincerely,

cin

 

 

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

