#103 Random thoughts…Mine!


This is just an idea of what happens if I sit still for more than five minutes. You can’t see him but there’s a black cat on the floor right next to me as well as the one on the couch…not to mention the pets that are on me. ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes that’s Rick.

Every once in a while I like to add some insight into my life and some things that have been a part of me for a very long time. Most of those things require a detailed explanation for anyone to really understand them, ‘Mine’ is one of those things. I don’t remember when I started doing it, but growing up when I would see anything that I liked and intended to keep I would take hold of it and just simply say “mine”. It always worked too. I thought I would get some resistance on some of the things that I took as ‘mine’, but people would just look at me a little funny and say “ok”, and that was that. The reason I am explaining this particular word is because now it’s used around my house on a daily basis…and not just by me anymore. The day I met my dear husband I knew that he was coming to see me but he didn’t have a clue that he was coming to meet me. A mutual friend of ours had thought we should talk to each other on the phone and after a few weeks I wanted to see what he looked like. So, our friend decided that it would be better if he brought Rick and another friend of theirs(they thought he was taking them to the movies) to pick up me and two of my friends so that we could all go to a friend’s house. It took me hours to get ready and my mother being the big helper that she is actually helped me squirm into a new pair of jeans having to use a pair of pliers to get the zipper up. I guess she figured I was safe if I couldn’t get them on and off by myself. We three girls were outside at the end of my parents driveway and I was sitting on my dad’s car when the truck drove up. The other two guys jumped out of the truck but Rick wasn’t moving as fast as the others were so I started to walk over to the truck. You have to remember that this was in the mid eighties. I made it about half-way to the open passenger side door and I saw a guy step out wearing a trench coat and jeans. I just stood there looking at him like I was in shock. I don’t think I stood there very long though because I took one more step and said ‘mine’! Rick leaned over and kissed me and I couldn’t seem to let him go. I had never had anything like this happen before, although I did have boyfriends before Rick, but I was literally stunned into silence. He smiled at me and he said “your’s”…and that was that. We spent the rest of the evening with all of our friends and the rest is a whole different kind of story. Now when anyone of my kids, my husband, or my friends want anything in my house they touch it and say “mine” and I usually just look at them a little funny and say “ok”. Who am I to refuse anything to anyone? I like to make people happy and if giving someone something that I have is going to make them happy then that’s what I want to do. I do get some shit for keeping random things just in case someone might have a need for it (it’s not at all unusual for me to run and bring back whatever someone says they need before they finish saying it), but I don’t like to have things piled up or sitting around. I need a lot ofย  open space to move around the house in my wheelchair so I hate to have anything sitting out. I think that after years of having to pick up toys or other things just to get through my house I became very adamant that nothing ever be left lying around or it would then become “mine” and go straight into the trash can.

8 thoughts on “#103 Random thoughts…Mine!

  1. What an amazing story, you two are definitely soul mates, wow!! The picture is priceless, thanks so much for sharing. I hope you are resting easy tonight, surrounded by lots of love and sweet, furry animals. ๐Ÿ™‚

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

