#105 Oh, to be in the yard again


I don’t know how this is happening but I’m still feeling better every day. I’ve now managed to spend the past two days doing things around here that I couldn’t have done even a week ago. It’s so nice to have a little bit of energy again, although it may have a little tiny bit to do with the coffee and M&Ms, but who cares! I know I don’t. Whatever works is fine by me as long as I get to do whatever I want to do. Rick and I spent most of the day and into the evening doing some things that have been put on the back burner for a long time, so it was nice to see things getting accomplished again. And to top the day off, Rick made me home-made chicken soup and it was simply perfect. We’ve been having contractors come over to look at the damage to the house so that we can get estimates on the repairs, but I think I need to find a guy who isn’t quite so shady. The last guy that was here yesterday actually offered to commit insurance fraud by padding the bill and paying us to let him get the job through the insurance company, like that had a chance in hell of EVER happening! I should have known that guy was no good when my dog kept trying to go after him. Bob usually settles down with strangers as soon as they pet him, but Bob went absolutely crazy the entire time he was here. He looked confused when I told him that I needed proof of insurance, bonding and licensing as well as references and a written estimate to show to the adjuster. I had to laugh when he left because he just didn’t have a clue how do conduct business in a professional manner. He even parked his truck partially in my front yard and left tire marks in my driveway when he left. Seriously?!?! I don’t have time for people who are shady. I should give his name to the adjuster and tell him what the idiot offered to do, I’m sure they would love to know about it. It’s been looking like it might rain again here but hopefully it won’t be until after we can get the repairs done. We have a huge air conditioner right over where the leak is too so I’m kind of scared of it coming through the ceiling if it doesn’t get fixed soon. It really isn’t bad enough to come down but better safe than sorry. I’m thinking about spending some time in my yard this morning after I take my bath. I don’t have much to do out front, but the back yard could definitely use my attention. Even if I am only able to do a little bit outside I know that it will make me feel good afterwords. We were going to have a Bar-B-Q for Labor Day but with all the money we have to put out to fix things around the house we had to cancel. I don’t mind though because it does take a lot out of me to have company over anymore. I would much rather just spend time with Rick and relax in my clean house. I still have my sun flowers in my kitchen window and I’m going to change the water today in the hopes that they’ll last another three or four days. They look so beautiful, and it makes me so happy to be able to look at them when I’m doing my dishes. I should probably wake Rick up so he doesn’t bitch at me for letting him sleep too long, but I figure that he must need more sleep if he doesn’t wake up when I’m moving around in the morning. It’s not like I try to be quiet at all. I think I’ll just turn on some music and crank it up and see if he comes down on his own. I don’t want to go up and down the stairs anymore than I have to or I won’t make it outside today to play in the yard. Now I just need to figure out where my tiny shovel is…I hope it didn’t get hidden on me again.

2 thoughts on “#105 Oh, to be in the yard again

  1. Hey Cin! We went on a quick out of towner this weekend and just back to see your fab pic – working in the yard, yay! Glad you have some energy back! The chicken noodle soup is so good for the soul, and everything else. I think it’s a super food! Glad the flowers still look nice and make you smile. Hope you have a nice quiet labor-free evening 🙂

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

