#115 Stopping the abuse


So, I have more issues than I thought. I keep a dish on my desk filled with M&Ms so that I can munch on them while I write, and I refill it from a huge bag in the fridge that I get at Sam’s Club. I went to refill it and realized that my bag was empty. Here’s where my issues come in. Rick was sitting in his recliner watching a movie and I was taking my poor little empty dish to the kitchen…what I didn’t realize was that I was holding the empty dish out in front of me and humming ‘Taps’. Rick was looking as me kind of weird so I stopped and asked him what was up. He just shook his head and told me that he didn’t really think that song was needed for M&Ms. I didn’t even realize that I was doing it. I don’t usually run out, but anyone who has ever had a craving for chocolate will be able to feel my pain. Cancer just loves sweets. I did have a few months after my mastectomy and lymph node removal where I didn’t crave it as much, but now it’s coming back again in full force. I did have Almond Joy coffee creamor to put in my coffee so that helped a little bit, but oh, what I wouldn’t do for a brand new bag of M&Ms. I wonder if I send the company a letter telling them how much I advertize for them if they’ll give me a life-time supply of those perfect little candy pieces? I told you I have issues. I did discover last night that peanut butter and jelly on crackers is a great fix for a sweet tooth. Rick must be in a good mood this morning because he just left with Bob to go for a walk around the neighborhood. We used to go together every morning but now that I have  more trouble going that far he hasn’t even mentioned going for our walks for a long time. Bob loves to go out on his leash, it takes a few minutes after putting him on his string to get him to calm down enough to go outside. It’s really very cute. I’m going to get my kitchen cleaned this morning and dust my front living room because I noticed yesterday that someone wrote in the dust on my coffee table. I think it was a casual hint from Jesse. Not that she would ever clean anything in my house but she doesn’t mind letting me know that I should clean something. When we were having dinner last night Jesse was here and she was telling Rick and I how she had seen someone mistreating a disabled woman in the group home that she works at, and she was concerned that the report that she made to her supervisors wasn’t going to be sufficient enough to stop it. She said that she was afraid that if she saw it happen again that she wouldn’t be able to stop herself from taking a swing at the bitch that was abusing this poor disabled woman. Jesse has always been sensitive to the abuse of people who can’t stand up for themselves. I feel really bad for her having to be in a situation where she is seeing the shitty way some people act toward helpless people. I tried to explain to her that it was better that she keep pushing for action to be taken to make sure that the management did the right thing, and that if she took matters into her own hands that she might get fired and then she wouldn’t be able to protect those who needed help in the future. I think if I were in her shoes I would have a difficult time not punching someone in the face too, but I also believe that she can do more good by handling this situation in a professional manner and continuing to work there so that she can be there to stick up for all of their clients in the future. I think that she sees me when she sees a disabled person being harmed and it makes her absolutely crazy. I have faith in her that she’ll make sure that everyone at her work knows that she isn’t going to just sit by and let things like this happen. I am so proud of her for standing up for someone who needs help. Too many people would just look the other way. I wouldn’t want to be the one who was abusing someone in front of either one of my kids.

One thought on “#115 Stopping the abuse

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

