#120 Coffee anyone?


I was watching the local news yesterday morning and I saw a story about a woman who told all her friends and family that she had breast cancer and needed a double mastectomy and didn’t have insurance so she needed to pay cash for it. They had fund-raisers just for her and raised thousands of dollars. She didn’t have breast cancer at all, she just wanted a boob job. From what I heard on the news she ended up getting this boob job done before anyone found out that she was making it all up to get their money . The judge gave her a year in jail as punishment, and this woman said to the judge that she planned on paying all the money back a little bit at aĀ  time when she gets out of jail. I think they should have taken the boobs back too. I can’t believe that someone would say that they have cancer when they don’t have it and never did. I still have people who think that because I don’t “look” that sick that my cancer is all better. I just can’t wrap my head around someone doing anything this terrible, and I don’t think her punishment was even close to being enough. Maybe two or three years in jail would have sat better with me. I’m sure that my own money problems don’t help with my opinion of her either. Our pool is looking perfect again, and just being able to see that everything is working again made me feel much better. I do still have to do a little bit of juggling do find a way to pay for everything else, but I’ll figure it out somehow. Rick is terrible with money so he’s agreed to put all of his money straight into my account and let me take care of the bills for a while. He always pays things backwards. I like to pay the largest bills first and the smallest ones last, he doesn’t do that and it makes me crazy when the most important things have to wait to be paid. That’s never a good idea. I have always taken care of the household bills before and we always had what we needed. I made sure that he always had a few bucks in his pocket and we were able to pay all the bills and still have some money left over to have friends over for parties, and that was with less money than we have coming in now. I’m trying to teach him how to stay within a budget, but he tries to spend small amounts that he thinks that I won’t notice then he’s shocked when I get angry that I don’t have all the money that I need to pay the bills when they’re due. I don’t understand why I get so upset about things like this when I never did before. I guess I can see a much larger picture now and I have way more things on my mind than paying the bills. I would love to be able to teach Rick how to manage everything, but it’s just easier right now if I do it myself. I just hope that I’m able to actually get to the bank when I need to. That was why I started letting Rick take care of everything in the first place. I was too sick to get in the car and go anywhere. I still never know what days I’ll be well enough to get up and do anything but I’ll have to at least give it a shot. In Rick’s defense…he has been buying lottery tickets so that we can one day win the lottery. He really believes that we’re going to be rich one day. If we do get rich I’ll be found back in Hawaii, on the beach with a drink in my hand. For now, my coffee will have to do.

4 thoughts on “#120 Coffee anyone?

  1. Oh that lady is infuriating. They should make her do community service with the very people she made light of with her stupid plan to get new boobs. Ugh.

    I just love this picture, you have a beautiful tattoo, I am jealous! Love the umbrella drink. Where were you when this was taken? That lei is pretty.

    Glad you’re feeling better today! xxx

    • jenni,
      Everyone there had tattoos drawn on by the ladies who gave out the leis, Rick and I were at a luau at the Polynesian Cultural Center on Waikiki a few months before I was diagnosed. Some day we’ll be able to fly back again for another visit. I was very impressed today that I was able to sing for a while this morning. šŸ™‚
      cin

  2. Yay! So glad you about the singing! Do you guys watch the X Factor or the Voice? Those are always entertaining, I think. Simon Cowell seems to have found his heart after all of these years, too. Hope you have a wonderful day, glad the pool is looking good again!

    • Jenni,
      I have to correct something I said yesterday…We were staying on Waikiki beach and the party was on the other side of Oahu. I love Simon, he’s my favorite TV person because I know what he hears when people sing off key. It sounds like nails on a chalkboard to me so I totally get his comments. The pool is still doing great too. šŸ™‚
      cin

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

