#125 Counting my blessings


It seems like counting your blessings would be the easiest thing in the world to do and that it would just comes naturally to everyone, but I guess I  needed to be reminded to do so. I’m just so used to having to face some extremely difficult issues all the time that it’s become a normal part of my life, I try not to let it get me down and I just do my best every day to stay in a good mood. After the initial shock of getting my bad news yesterday I did find myself in a not so good mood and didn’t know exactly how to process the situation so that I could be of some support to my friend without saying anything what would make things worse for her…then, because of my experience with one medical problem after another, I came to the realization that I already knew what she needed. All I should be doing is asking her how she’s feeling and give her a few ‘tools’ to handle whatever she didn’t already know how to deal with , and that’s only if she asks for my advice. I need to learn that I don’t automatically have the right to make someone else’s troubles my own if they don’t ask me to. I can be so eager to help people that sometimes I don’t know when to just shut my mouth and simply be there for my friends and family. I have another friend that has been struggling with making very important choices in her life and she told me that lately she has been starting each day by thanking the good Lord by acknowledging all of her many blessings. When she told me about doing this, and that it had been helping her to put her whole life into perspective, I thought that it would be a great way to keep from letting any bad things take me down too. I haven’t always been a very religious woman, but these past few months and even years, I’ve been questioning what I do believe in and whether or not I think that I have been a good enough person. I don’t much care what other people think about how I live my life, but it means everything to me to know that I’m doing everything that I am able to do to go to Heaven when I die (many years from now). I think that I started off my life doing everything possible to get into trouble and I never really cared if I was going against what God wanted me to be doing. Now… I do care, and not just because I want to go to Heaven, but mostly because I believe that we only get one shot at life and I want to do the most that I can do to be of whatever kind of help to others as possible. I decided that counting my own blessings was a great way to start, so I thought that I would share with all of you what I consider to be my blessings. Let’s start off with that fact that I’m alive right now. When I was fifteen years old my parents were told that I would not live through having bone cancer in my leg, and if by some miracle I did live more than a few months, because of the chemo I was given, I would never be able to have children. I did live through the chemo and I was able to get pregnant(which came as a huge surprise to my parents), now I have a 20-year-old daughter who is probably the strongest and most driven woman I know, and my 22-year-old son who has had his own issues with his health to come to terms with and is getting married soon and giving me my first grand child in a few months. Both of my kids have had to go through many things that the average kid never has to deal with, because of what I was not always able to do, and I believe that they are both stronger people for their experiences. I am truly blessed that I found a man who loves me no matter what happens, and I believe with all of my heart that we were literally made for each other. God gave me a husband who would hold me up through all of the bad times as well as enjoy the good time with me. We were able to create a life and family that make me happier than I would have ever believed was possible when I was younger, and the good times always come right when I feel like I can’t take anymore bad things in my life. I’m blessed with a very big extended family as well, I have a lot of family members that I don’t get to see very often, but when we are all able to get together it’s like we never left each other at all and pick up right where we left off. I do wish that we were all closer to each other so that we could see each other more often, but the miles that separate us don’t make me love them any less, if anything I’m more aware of what I do have where family is concerned. So that’s it for now, I have many more things to count as blessings, but I don’t want to try to put it all in one post so this will have to do for today. I thank God for all the wonderful blessings that he did give me and I hope that I am able to continue to enjoy each and every one of them as long as I live. I have to give credit where credit is due, so Thank You God! I give you all the glory for the beautiful life and family that you have seen fit to give to me. This is the most family that I have in one photo, but Justin has to have his own picture because he left before we could get him in there too.

2 thoughts on “#125 Counting my blessings

  1. Wonderful post, Cin. Great reminder! It’s so easy to get wrapped up in daily craziness that we all forget to stop and be thankful for what we have, family and friends at the top of that list! I love your pictures, what a great family you and Rick built. It doesn’t happen by accident, but lots of work and tears. You raised great kids in a society that seems to do everything to get the way of that goal!!

    I am trying to do better at living in the moment these days, seems I am always rushing from one event to the next or one project to the next. This modern world sort of pushes us in that direction and we have to resist and slow down. I see people driving here like maniacs in between red lights. They get to the same place at the same time as me, when I am just driving steadily along. But I think I’m much happier and less angry! 🙂 Knowing what you can’t control and mastering those that you can is also important, something you have done exceedingly well!!!

    I hope you have a wonderful, comfortable day ❤

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

