#131 Police in my house?


I decided yesterday morning while I was drinking my coffee that I needed to get some exercise in to get my blood pumping like I was told to do by the Dr at the hospital. I do love going around the neighborhood in my wheelchair with Rick walking next to me but Rick had some errands to run and I was here all by myself. I don’t ever go out alone just in case anything happens or I start feeling bad. So I thought that it would be a good idea to find things to do around the house, and since I had been in the hospital all last week my kitchen wasn’t exactly as clean as I thought it should be, so that’s where I started. I think every dish we own was dirty and when Rick cleans the kitchen he always only fills the dishwasher and forgets about the stove and the counters. I washed every dish by hand and dried and put them all away and did my best to get everything else in the kitchen cleaned as well. I think I ended up spending about two hours just in the kitchen alone and was very disappointed in myself for not having enough energy to sweep and mop my floors. My daughter had her favorite little man (four years old) here for a few days and she had to go to work so I agreed to watch him until Rick came home to take care of him, but Rick ended up having to be out until it was bed time so I never did get anymore work done. I think I probably shouldn’t have done anymore than I did anyway because after sitting down for a few minutes I realized that I was completely wiped out. Luckily little man was very well-behaved for me so watching him wasn’t a problem at all. I went to get ready for bed as soon as Rick came to take over and right after he walked in the door he told me that he had agreed to also watch our niece for the night so that my sister could go to the er to have an x-ray of her ankle. So just as I was getting ready to fall asleep Rick laid down with the kids to watch a movie to help them go to sleep and I didn’t hear another thing all night. When I woke up this morning I had a house full of people…my daughter had two friends sleeping here, my sister and her boyfriend were asleep with my niece in the guest room, and little man and Jesse were asleep in her room.  There were people everywhere, but thank God there wasn’t very much noise. I woke up the last of the sleeping teenagers on my couches and told everyone to find something to eat and get moving so I could have my house to myself again so that I could try again to get my house cleaned. They didn’t make much of a mess so I just have to work on the floors and dust. Hopefully I can get it all finished today before I get too tired. I also was told that while I was sleeping that the police had to come in my house looking for a guy that was running from them and they had their guns drawn while searching my house. Come to find out the guy had jumped my back wall and went over the neighbors wall and they found him in a third neighbor’s back yard. I never heard a thing. I might have been bothered that there were cops in my house with their guns out looking for a criminal, but because Rick and I had to talk to the police all the time when we were doing repos we pretty much know all the cops in this area. Rick told me that one of the officers stopped to talk to him for a few minutes to ask if we had any tow chains left over that he could use for weight lifting. I’m still in a good mood today and Rick and I are here all alone again…just how I like it. I’m going straight to get my broom and mop and see how far I get today. I’m still not feeling my best but I’m willing to do as much as my body will let me do. I noticed this morning that all three of my bath rooms need to be cleaned too. I think I need a maid, but I can’t find one that will work for free…and I do need the exercise. I feel so much better when I’m able to get some of my cleaning done. Things just seem to be getting back to normal around here and every conversation doesn’t revolve around my cancer. That’s really a welcome change. I’m so ready for another vacation.

 

4 thoughts on “#131 Police in my house?

  1. Crazy about the cops, you must be a deep sleeper! Wow! So glad that things are getting back to normal. Sounds like you had a full house that night. You and Rick are such good people to help others, even if they are family, you’re still where people go for comfort, solace and help. That’s a reflection on the two of you, and why we all love you so much!

    Hope tonight was quiet for you! Love and hugs!

    • Jenni,
      I used to have people here all the time but I had to put an end to most of that when I started feeling so bad and I couldn’t stand the noise and having people here when I was trying to rest, but they were all very well behaved. This was a kool-aid house when my kids were both still at home…that I don’t miss. 🙂
      cin

  2. Hi Cin! Just passing through and checking on you. It’s been a while since you posted, so I just like to reach out and let you know I’m still here!

    How are you feeling today? I hope the pain is under control and that the pesky PE is going away. Can you tell any difference day-to-day? I know you said you could feel the embolism, and I hope it just slowly fades to nothingness and one day, voila, it’s gone!

    So what’s for dinner tonight? 🙂 We’re having Italian, it’s fast, easy, cheap and filling. Perfect. I am half Italian, my grandparents came over on a very slow boat in 1910! My grandma lived with us after my grandfather passed. We were sooooo close, but we lost her when I was a junior in high school. She had breast cancer, but sadly had a heart attack in the end so it was all too sudden. It was the worst day of my entire life, but I have great memories of her and she’s with me to this day, I can feel it! Her name was Francesca, and that’s my daughter’s middle name.

    So I have something fun to drop in the mail to you this week, so keep watching! Not a day goes by that I don’t think about you and send good, healing thoughts your way.

    Love and hugs from your East coast buddy and I’ll check on you soon.

    • Jenni,
      I’m not feeling well lately so I haven’t written anything on my blog. I think I just need a break for a few more days and then I’ll start writing again. I think it takes a while for the clot to go away but I haven’t had anymore pain there than before. I don’t think it’s getting any worse though. I love getting things in the mail from you, it’s like Christmas to me. I’ll be watching the mail to see what it is. 🙂 Francesca is a beautiful name.
      cin

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

