#140 I’m healed? Ah…NO!


So, yesterday afternoon I was out side on the patio talking to Rick about his appointment Thursday with the lawyers, and I asked him what the date was. I never do know what day of the week it is and most of the time I can’t remember what day of the month it is either. He told me the date and I suddenly remembered that I had something to do. I looked in my purse for any appointment cards and found on from my pain center with a time of 1:45 yesterday afternoon. I called my mom and asked her to take me, because my car needs to have repairs done, which I can’t afford right now, and she made sure that I was there on time. Thank God for mom. I waited longer than usual in the exam room for the PA to come in, but I didn’t mind because he always spends a lot of time talking to me so I just figured that he was talking to someone else(I could hear him in the next room) and he would be in as soon as he could. When he came in he sat next to me and said “How are you doing?” I said “shitty,how about you?” He said the same thing, “shitty”. He wanted to know why I wasn’t doing well and I told him about how I thought that I was starting to have problems in my arm. I did have a lot of lymph nodes taken out when I had my breast amputated (I think the word mastectomy doesn’t do it justice), twenty-eight the last time and eight the first time. Even one being taken out can cause you to have a lot of pain and swelling in your arm. I haven’t had any trouble with it in this past year so I’m not convinced that it isn’t the tumor in my arm pit pushing on things that are causing pain all the way into my hand.

 

I watched for any swelling or anything like this before, but I never saw anything.  And, I’ve usually been able to get relief from the pain pills after I healed from each surgery. I’m a little worried that this is only the beginning of the problems with my arm.  Anyway, the PA wanted to change my meds(which he does every so often) and scribbled for a while on some paper, trying to figure out the correct amount of the other pain meds to equal what I was already on. I would have needed a calculator for all those math problems. After a while he gave up and went to go to the back office to speak to my Dr and ask him what he thought should be written. When the PA came back he was laughing. I asked him what was going on and he,still laughing, said that some Dr had called my Dr and told him that I didn’t have breast cancer…that he thought that it was a misdiagnosis. I wish I was a fly on the wall for that conversation.

 

When I was first diagnosed and still had all the tumors in my body I had to be admitted to the hospital for pain. I insisted after almost a week that they call in my own pain Dr because he already knew me and I trusted him. They refused until I started screaming in pain, and I also sent my husband across the street to the Dr’s office to tell him personally that I needed him and why. My own Dr showed up in my hospital room at about eight pm when he was on his way home for the night. When he came in he sat down held my hand and put his head in my lap and cried. He told me that no matter what happens he’ll be there to see me through this. I believed him then and I still believe in him now. He chewed out the hospital staff and changed the meds I was on and I was able to go home two days later. If he hadn’t come in to help me I don’t know how long I would have been there. I don’t have a clue what Dr would have called him unless it was the Medical Director at the hospice that I was in a few months ago who wanted me to have more scans and tests to prove what my prognosis was after I had my surgery. They do have to make sure that you qualify to be in hospice so I know why they wanted more proof. But, if they would have told me at the time what they were looking for I could have had the reports from the Cardio Thoracic surgeon and the pathology reports sent to them. I didn’t know then that they didn’t have everything.

 

I haven’t seen an Oncologist for about eight months now because I didn’t have any reason to go to one. I wasn’t having chemo and I didn’t know that I would need to be continually getting tested for something that doesn’t go away on its own. I made all of my choices clear to all my Dr.s and I figured that they would all talk to each other when they needed information. Anyway, my own Dr knew better than to believe that it was all a mistake and thought that the one who had called him and told him that it was all a misunderstanding was an idiot. I’m very glad now that I insisted on having my own Dr come to the hospital because he saw for himself that there was no mistake and that I simply wasn’t going along with all the usual treatments for IDC. Some people (including Dr.s) think if I’m not doing chemo and radiation that I must not have cancer. It only it were. I did ask my PCP to get me a referral for another Oncologist so that there wouldn’t be anymore questions about my prognosis. Just incase I need proof from now on. So now I start the new meds next week, I know that I’ve taken them before but I don’t remember if I had any problems with taking them. Hopefully it’ll help me without giving me any more issues to deal with.

2 thoughts on “#140 I’m healed? Ah…NO!

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

