#147 Thank God my nurse works night shifts


Yesterday I wasn’t doing very well and I was in a terrible amount of pain. Normally I would be able to push the button on my IV pain meds and then I would feel a little bit better. When I push that  button it gives me a whole hours worth of pain meds all at once. I know that I have a nurse coming this morning to set up a new IV bag so I figured I would just wait for her to come and tell her that my pain button wasn’t working for the extra pain meds. I guess it was about 9pm last night when everything on my IV meds quit working at all. The only pain meds that I take are in that bag so I hadn’t been getting pain meds for hours before I knew what was happening and I had to call my nurse late last night to ask her to come to my house right away and fix it. She was yawning when I was telling her on the phone what was happening, but she came right over.

I told her that I was really sorry that I had called her at home after she had worked all day but she made me feel better about calling her. I like my nurse…she understands what the pain can do to people. She ended up having to take the needle out of my port and insert a new needle and luckily the new one flushed perfectly. I was in so much pain by the time that she had it working right again that I actually felt the pain meds go into my body, normally I wouldn’t feel the pain meds at all. I asked her why that would happen and she said that I was moving around too much. I hardly do anything at all and now just taking a bath is a big deal. I don’t know how I can do less that I already do.I think I’ll spend my time watching a movie this morning so I don’t try to clean anything because I know I’ll hurt myself if I do. I do have a box of M&Ms and a pot of fresh coffee to comfort me.

My best friend Daine was here for days doing dishes and cleaning my floors so I think that just watching her do all the work that she did was what hurt me. I did probably do one or two things without realizing I was doing anything at all because she was doing so much. I don’t know how she has put up with me for twenty seven years (I think), but she’s the only reason that my house looks as good as it does. Thank you Daine! I hope you’re coming back soon, but for visiting or watching a movie or something.

 

9 thoughts on “#147 Thank God my nurse works night shifts

    • ali,
      hot packs made of feed corn that heats up in the microwave oven works great for back pain. I’m doing better today than I did yesterday but I think I’m done for the day. Have to lay down now…thanks for the comment on the pic. 😉
      cin

  1. I leave you a note of all the kindness and loving thoughts one stranger can give to another. You are a true inspiration, and your life will live on in the hearts of others. Love never dies; you have scattered too many petals of kindness to ever be forgotten. Travel safely, Cindy xxx
    ~ Zeana

    • Hi Stephanie,
      This is Elaine, Cindy’s sister. Thank you for checking in.
      On October 4th we marked the day as the end of Cindy’s pain. She died early in the morning this past Friday. I’ll be posting soon.
      Thank you for being there,
      Elaine

I would enjoy reading any comments you have, so please leave a reply or any questions!

